Hells yes, Vegan Brunch!

I’m starting to believe I may be what’s known as a “Chandrist” vegan, because I basically only own vegan cookbooks by Isa Chandra Moskowitz (and her writing partner, Terry Hope Romero). I have some random vegetarian cookbooks, but I always, always, always come back to their recipes. And oh, how I love Vegan Brunch.

I kinda stumbled onto the recipe for these cinnamon rolls, since they aren’t the ones mentioned in the book. I like to make breakfast sandwiches for my husband to take to work, and I’m too cheap to buy english muffins. $10 shampoo? Yes. English muffins? No.

So I followed the Vegan Brunch recipe, but I rolled them out too thin. I had a ton of leftover dough (and some flat english muffins…he still ate them). So I rolled it out, smothered it in goodness, and *BLAM!* maple blueberry cinnamon rolls were born!

Maple Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls (12 tiny rolls):

  •  1/2 recipe for english muffins from Vegan Brunch (let it rise once)
  • 1 T Earth Balance spread (or whatever margarine you use), very soft
  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 1 T agave nectar
  • 1/3-1/2 cup blueberries (I use the wild frozen ones, and they are teensy, so I use more)
  • 2-4 tsp cinnamon (I like lots of cinnamon, maybe you don’t?)

Roll the dough out as flat as you possibly can on a floured surface. I’m talking paper thin. Then, mix the spread with the syrup and nectar. Smooth the mixture out onto your dough. Sprinkle with blueberries and cinnamon. I really, really like to use lots of cinnamon here, it gives it a lot more flavor. I adore the cinnamon from Costco. It comes in a huge bottle, and tastes magical. It’s $4! Then roll everything up as tight as you can without losing all your berries.

Cut the rolls into 1-inch thick circles, and put in a greased baking pan. I actually use a bread pan for this, it works great. Let the rolls rise in a warm place for 30 mins, don’t worry, they probably won’t quite double in size. If it looks like the pan is filling up with blueberry juice, that’s exactly what you want to see. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 mins, watch closely that they don’t burn, since the tops are so sugary. Serve warm.

Just for fun, I’m including a photo of the Caramelized Onion Quiche I made from Vegan Brunch. So cute! If only I’d used fresh parsley instead of dried to garnish it–so much cuter. But fresh parsley always goes bad in the fridge so fast. Lucky for me, spring is arriving and I’ll have herbs galore in about a month. Hurrah!

Seriously, look how horrible my crust turned out. Crust is my worst enemy. Either it’s too dry and crumbly, or it’s too wet and comes out all crackery. I don’t get it! All I’ve discovered is that shortening seems to work a lot better than margarine for me, but I miss the buttery taste. I gotta get my hands on some (relatively) healthy shortening, stat!

2 thoughts on “Hells yes, Vegan Brunch!

  1. Pingback: Nooks & Crannies | unethical vegan

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls, Part Deux | unethical vegan

Leave a Reply

