Banana French Toast

This is the second time I’ve attempted this recipe from Vegan Brunch, the first time was a DISASTER. I used french bread from Target, it turned super mushy in the batter, and then stuck like crazy to my newly purchased cast iron skillet.

Fast forward to three weeks later, when I’m brave enough to try this again. And guess what? It turned out amazing! I went to the specialty grocery and bought high quality crusty Italian bread. I’ve really seasoned my skillet, so there was no sticking. And I had lots of blackberries that I purchased from Costco. Why does Costco have the best produce? It seems weird. But there you go, everything (except some apples I got out of season–bleh) is amazing.

I love the combination of banana, vanilla, cinnamon and cocoa that you get with this french toast. And I like that without the high fat and cholesterol milk and eggs, this recipe isn’t even high in fat. It doesn’t sit like a greasy rock in your stomach, and it isn’t too too sweet, even when you smother it in maple syrup. Yum.

Would it be wrong of me to add a little cayenne pepper?

Leave a Reply

