Astoria, Oregon (Part I)

I’m back from vacation! It was great, except for the very last, last little bit where my plane left 3 hours late. Oh, and the part where I had to kindly tell two people to stop having sex with each other on the plane directly across the aisle from my daughter. Nice.

Anyway, the food! Did you know Oregon has awesome vegan food? You did? Well, then…you should keep reading anyway.

Our first road trip stop was in Astoria, Oregon. It’s the home of Kindergarten Cop, the Goonies, some horror movies, awesome houses, a great co-op, and delicious food.

My favorite place was the Blue Scorcher Bakery & Cafe. It’s all vegetarian, and extremely vegan and kid friendly. If and when I get the opportunity to live in Astoria, I would love to work here.

For breakfast, I had the Tempeh and Toast. I actually started eating it before I took the photo, it was that delicious. Also, full disclosure, the milk you see in the photo is for my daughter, who is not a vegan, and it did come from a cow. If that makes you uncomfortable, I’m sorry.

I wish I made tempeh this flavorful and wonderful. And what is it about Oregon that makes all the salad greens taste wonderful? Like magic.

Leave a Reply

