Now That’s a Spicy Wiener

I attempted to make some sort of vegan Germanfest in my house, with mixed results. Step 1. Faux Italian sausage instead of faux brauts. Step 2. “Hot Dog” bun that looked like a mummy’s turd. Step 3. Enough dijon mustard on that sausage to make me feel like the back of my head was going to fly off, hit the ceiling, and then snap back on like it was attached with elastic. YIKES.

I’m going to say, right here, that you should not ever think to serve German side dishes with Italian sausage. The spices…so very, very, very wrong. And I’m totally going to salvage that sausage for a delicious Italian meal sometime in the future, don’t worry. And my sad, sad little roll actually ended up tasting sorta pretzely, so it wasn’t that bad. I need to figure out what the heck is wrong with my bread. I think that the bag of yeast I bought from Costco about four years ago is probably old. Though every time I say “I think my yeast is old!” to my husband, he can’t help but get the giggles.

Do you like my caramelized onions though? I am a hot shot with those! Here’s the easy way to do it!

Caramelized Onions:

  • 2 medium or one really large sweet onion (I like Maui onions), cut in half and then into slices
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup veggie broth

Spray a cast iron skillet (if you don’t have one, you should. Really!) with some cooking spray or heat up a little oil over medium-low heat. Add the onion and cover the whole deal with tinfoil (really nestle it on there). I check back with it when I either smell the onions getting brown, or about every 5 minutes. Once the bottom layer is browned, take the foil off and put in the wine and broth. Stir, and let them cook off until the liquid in the skillet is mostly gone. TA DA!

Also, I love sauerkraut. I cannot stress this enough. And since I can’t eat pickled eggs anymore, that sweet sweet kraut is getting me through.

Sausage recipes are in Vegan Brunch. And I’ve been working on chorizo, too, so you’ll see that soon!

2 thoughts on “Now That’s a Spicy Wiener

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti & Sausage | unethical vegan

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potato Pizza | unethical vegan

Leave a Reply

