Ooh, Breakfast. I love you.

Yes, yes, the book is Vegan Brunch. And it’s usually on the table by brunchtime. However, I can’t think of breakfast food as anything BUT breakfast. And, dear God, is this breakfast. Perfect Pancakes? Check. Tofu Scramble? Check. Red Flannel Hash? Check.

Listen to me: I DON’T LIKE BEETS. But the potatoes and beets together created some sort of crispy delectable love affair that I can’t resist. And the pancakes? Better than non-vegan ones, hands down. I was a little nervous about the tofu scramble, and to be honest, I thought it was a little over-spiced. However, I think I had less tofu on hand than the recipe called for (since I’d culled it from scraps leftover during the week). So, I think next time I will either up the tofu, or down the spice. But the texture of the tofu was perfect. I liked it better than eggs, which I’ve always found to be a little bit creepy. You know? The weird smell? The occasional stringy bit which I always think is a dead chicken fetus? Ewww.

The berry sauce on the pancakes? I made it me self!

Mixed Berry Syrup:

  • 1/2 cup blackberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup

Just put it all together in a little saucepot on low heat until the berries get really soft and the syrup is nice and warm. Taste for sweetness…if it’s not sweet enough for you (monster!) add some agave nectar until it tastes right. Also, you could add a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg if you were feeling saucy.

One thought on “Ooh, Breakfast. I love you.

  1. Pingback: Maple Sausages & Hash | unethical vegan

Leave a Reply

