Spaghetti & Sausage

As I ate this, I kept thinking–even Ron Swanson would like this sausage. Maybe not, but it was dang meaty, and tasted much better than when I first made it–in my German Braut Nightmare. I sauteed these sausages in the same pan as I made the sauce, I just sat them aside and moved on with my cooking.

I make my own spaghetti sauce–and why not?–it’s so stinking easy. I hate to even think of buying the $6 jar stuff. Making pasta sauce is also weirdly rewarding, it’s one of those things which seems impossible to make unless you are an adorable Italian grandmother, but put on an apron and get out a wooden spoon and you’ll be fine.

Mushroom Marinara Sauce (4 servings):

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/3 cup diced carrots
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 8 oz package of mushrooms (baby bellas or just buttons are nice here), sliced
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 28 oz can of whole peeled tomatoes
  • 3 T tomato paste
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsp Balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp agave nectar

Heat oil in a cast iron (or large) skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onions and carrots, cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Then, add the garlic, mushrooms & pepper flakes. The mushrooms should start to release their juices after about three minutes. Pour in your red wine, and let it reduce until the liquid is mostly gone from the pan (about 5 minutes). Add the liquid from the tomatoes, and crush them with your hands as you add them to the sauce. Stir in the tomato paste and spices, and cook until sauce thickens–about 10 to 15 mins over medium heat. When sauce is thick, add the agave and balsamic. Stir, turn off the heat, and you’re ready to serve. 

I like to top my spaghetti off with nutritional yeast, though that’s totally up to you. 

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti & Sausage

  1. Pingback: Lazy Lasagna | unethical vegan

  2. Pingback: Spaghetti and Leanballs | unethical vegan

Leave a Reply

