Beets, beets, beets, beets…

Baked tempeh. Homemade rolls. Little cute orange segments. One pound of beets. A $2.50 box of wild rice. Dinner!

I feel like I should have added the cliched “priceless” at the end of that list. But I’m gonna go with–this was good. Not great, not…OH MY WHAT? AWESOMESAUCE. It was just, you know, different. Very orangey. Very…I don’t know what. My husband couldn’t really place the flavors, except to say they were complicated, and he was shocked to discover he liked beets. I would make this again in one of those moods when I had two hours to kill and didn’t really know what I wanted to eat. Or, it may be more of a fall food than a spring food. Who knows?

The rolls though…seriously. Just made with leftover english muffin dough. They were stellar. That dough is the most perfect dough recipe in the whole world. Lucky me, I get to make it every week!

Recipe from Appetite for Reduction.

Leave a Reply

