Chickpea & Quinoa Salad

You know how you can tell if a person is a vegan? By the way they pronounce “quinoa.” It’s true! I started out just like everybody else, calling it QUIN-OH-AH instead of KEEN-WAH. And now I laugh at people and slap them across the face when they say it wrong. Though I am fairly certain that my bestest friend still pronounces it incorrectly and I love her dearly. And would never slap her in the face. Unless there was, like, a bug on her or something. Right?

Anyway, this is one of the salads in Appetite for Reduction that I’d been avoiding. My husband dislikes about 90% of the ingredients in this salad, so I didn’t know how I was going to present it for dinner and get a good reaction. And guess what? I didn’t. He gloomily ate about 60% of it, and then dumped the rest in the trash. Poor guy. But you know who did love it? The small child whose hand you see in that photo: “More beans, please, Mama!”

That’s my girl, that’s my girl.

P.S.–want to know if you’ll like this recipe? You can basically guess. It’s not one of those tricky ones that tastes all different after you assemble it. If you like those ingredients, you will like the salad. It pulls no punches.

 

Leave a Reply

