Impossible Dinner

I call this dinner Impossible because it does not seem like any of it could possibly go together. Or have a theme. Or some sort of ethnic origin. The flavors here are so strange to me, yet, yet…it works. How could mushrooms and jalapeños go together? Am I just short-sighted on this one? And cherry tomatoes? And you serve it with beans? Um, okay.

I guess it’s the coriander seed that links it all together. There’s coriander in the Unrefried Beans, and in the tomatoes and mushrooms. And I deviated from the original recipe in Appetite for Reduction (which is what the earlier link sorta leads you to) by tossing in corn. I did that for two reasons: 1. Half of my mushrooms had gone bad, 2. I needed a little more protein in this dish. It works, so you can try it, too, if you like. Also, I think the recipe might be a little off, since it doesn’t actually tell you what stage to put the lime juice in. So, I just left it out. I didn’t want to chop and juice a lime tonight anyway. I think if I put a little green chili hot sauce on it, I wouldn’t even miss the lime at all.

I do loooooove this bean recipe, though. I don’t even like to mash them up very much, it gives you more of that texas beans n’ sauce dealy that I love so much. I don’t know that this combo will become a staple in our household, but it’s always nice to eat outside the box.

 

Leave a Reply

