Strawberry Shortcake, I love you, yes I do, it’s true!

 

It’s summer, so I can’t help but purchase the giant clamshells of fresh organic strawberries sitting there at the grocery store. They’re so lonely! I’ve been purposely avoiding the farmer’s market, because I know I would come home with two giant armloads of berries, and then have to desperately eat them all. Who am I kidding? I would love that. I think I live on a diet of mostly nuts, berries, and seeds. I’m like a squirrel.

But the Berry Shortcake recipe, from the current issue of Vegetarian Times, caught my eye. NEED SHORTCAKE. MUST HAVE SHORTCAKE. And that Frankenstein part of my brain was right. I needed this. Bad. This is easily the best sweet biscuit recipe I have ever used, and that’s even after I messed it up by putting in plain baking soda instead of baking powder (um, oops?). And I didn’t have confectioner’s sugar, so I just used agave nectar on my berries. You know what? Perfect. I’m going to have another one…tonight!

Also, did you notice that there’s no whipped cream? Yeah, I didn’t have any on hand, and didn’t have the ingredients to make Rad Whip, so I just put almond milk all over the bottom half. That’s how my family always ate it, anyway.

 

 

Leave a Reply

