Pancakes! Pancakes for Everyone!

First of all, I’d like to point out that these weren’t burned. They’re just darker because of the wheat flour and the spices! And that I cook with a cast iron skillet that tends to make everything look a little…done.

So, yay! I busted out the Happy Herbivore cookbook, and messed around with her pancake recipe. With great results! I have a tub of applesauce just sitting in my fridge, so I really wanted to use it to flavor these a smidge. And it’s about 100 degrees AT NIGHT in Kansas right now, so I don’t know why I was craving fall-centric foods, but there you go. These are totally tasty!

Apple Spice Pancakes (makes 6-8 flapjacks):

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Pinch of ground cardamom
  • 1 cup unmilk
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 T maple syrup

Cook pancakes over medium heat in a well greased skillet or griddle. I usually spray with cooking spray between flips, just to make sure everything turns out well. As I’m sure you know, pancakes are ready to be flipped when they have popped bubbles in the center of the cake. Don’t flip before that! You’ll be sorry!

I usually serve with Earth Balance and more syrup. My husband smothers his in jam. Weird, right?

3 thoughts on “Pancakes! Pancakes for Everyone!

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Swirl Pancakes Veganized! | unethical vegan

Leave a Reply

