Baked Ziti!

No picture really does this dinner justice. Happy Herbivore‘s Baked Ziti is, hands down, one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. EVER. It’s like happiness in a casserole dish. The closest I can come to describing it is decadent adult beef-a-roni. And if you loved beef-a-roni like I did, you’ll understand where I’m coming from.

I followed her directions pretty exactly on this, except for the meaty part–I used Trader Joe’s Beef-less Ground Beef, because I didn’t feel like making HH’s TVP beef. So much work! It used half of the package, so now I have enough left to make another casserole. Which I will be doing. Next week.

I love the cheezy sauce topping, too. Much more than I like her Queso recipe, which is okay, but doesn’t have the absolute creaminess this baked cheese does. Now I will totally be using it to make little pizzas, just like the cookbook recommends. I totally recommend this for when you are looking for comfort food, or are having beefy cravings. It is amazingly satisfying, and tastes even better the next day.

 

Leave a Reply

