Buffalo Seitan

Just another stop on my long road to buffalo-ing everything; I made these buffalo seitan hot wings from a recipe in October’s Vegetarian Times Magazine. I have to say, they were really terrific. It’s not a combination I would have thought of, which is silly–seitan can do anything!

To make the recipe easier, I used the chicken-style seitan recipe from Happy Herbivore. But I added about 2 T of Frank’s Red Hot to the cooking liquid. This saves you the marinating time the original recipe calls for, because the flavor is cooked right in. Secondly, I used the left-over cooking liquid to make a thick buffalo sauce to go over the top–just add in about 1/4 cup of additional Red Hot and some cornstarch to the mix. Whisk over medium heat until it thickens.

My best, best, best invention, though, was the super easy ranch dressing for the side. I mean, this is the easiest vegan ranch I’ve found anywhere, and it tasted great. Here’s what you do:

Vegan Golden Ranch Dressing (makes about 1/2 a cup):

  • 1/4 cup low-fat vegan mayo (I use Trader Joe’s brand)
  • Up to 1/4 cup unmilk (adjust thickness of dressing how you like)
  • 2 T nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 T dried onion flakes
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/4 tsp dried dill
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients and keep cold. Can you believe it’s that easy? You can adjust the spice mix to your liking–more or less garlic, more salt, etc. But this worked really well for me. Remember, a little dried dill goes a loooooong way. If you don’t like how it tastes with that little dill, add more. But be careful!

Leave a Reply

