Sweet Potato Cinnamon Rolls

These may, in fact, taste better than they look. Is that even possible?

From the November issue of Vegetarian Times (who lately can do no wrong) come the most amazing cinnamon rolls! They’re like a magical hybrid of all things delicious: maple, cinnamon, pecans, sweet potatoes…and sugar. SUGAR.

Were I to make these again (and I WILL) I found that using vegan cream cheese to make the icing didn’t add to the flavor much, but did add naughty naughty transfats. I think I’d just try to make a thinner icing with almond milk, or even mix it up with some sweet potato to get even more sweet potato flavor.

Okay, two changes: the dough was a little tough to work with. I’m not sure why, but I think it needed a little more liquid, or more something. I like the feel of the Vegan Brunch dough better, so I’d probably hybridize between those two recipes. When all was said and done, the rolls themselves weren’t tough, so…who knows?

What I do know is that I have about 5 of these bad boys in my freezer right now! LUCKY!

Leave a Reply

