Homemade Falafel Salad

Oh, baby. I love falafel, especially the super-fried crispy kind I would always get from Daphne’s Greek when I lived in California. Yeah, that was healthy. Now that I can’t eat dairy, I can no longer smother it in feta (or spicy feta…oh my), or tzatziki sauce. Yes, I googled how to spell that. And now that I’m actually trying to eat healthy, I can’t really deep-fry it, either. Wow, that sucks.

But these falafels don’t! Suck, that is. Once again, from Appetite for Reduction, I bring you something delicious. Well, Isa does. I think that I might have made these a little dry, since I used chickpeas I cooked myself, and I went a little overboard. But my husband actually said, “I’ve never looked forward to eating a salad like this…but, that was delicious.” I used the Mediterranean Vinaigrette from Veganomicon to round this out, since I was out of hummus. How can anyone be out of hummus? But there I was.

I served homemade chapatis on the side, which I made obviously totally wrong. They tasted like total crap. As a matter of fact, I have 10 of them in my fridge right now, and I don’t know what to do with them. Bread crumbs?

Leave a Reply

