Peanut Butter Blondies Two Ways

Like I tend to do, I made these Peanut Butter Blondies the first time deviating from the recipe a tad. I’d put our brown sugar in the freezer (I don’t know why!) and I was unwilling to defrost it. Instead I used raw sugar with a little molasses, and it was awesome.

Exhibit A. Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar Version of the Peanut Butter Blondie

The only problem? It was sorta greasy. And by sorta, I mean, really, really, really greasy. It could be from the 3/4 cup of peanut butter. Or the 1/3 cup of oil. Or the fact that I used raw sugar instead of brown. Regardless, greasy. But soooo tasty.

Solution?

Exhibit B. Homemade, lower fat Peanut Butter Blondie

Was it better? Hmm. It was less greasy, which is good, but it was lacking in the complete deliciousness package. I’m going to track the changes I made, and see what I could do to make it a little better.

  • Swapped out 1/2 cup of peanut butter for reconstituted powdered peanut butter (5 T+3 T of water)
  • Dropped the oil down to 1/4 cup
  • Upped the almond milk to 1/3 cup
  • Added 2 T extra flour

Here’s what I think needs to happen: put raw sugar back in. I’m going to use 1/2 cup of raw sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and see if that helps get it back on track. I think that it added a little caramel crunchiness to this that was really needed. Otherwise, I’m at a loss. Maybe only use 1/4 cup powdered peanut butter? We’ll see. It’s a delicious experiment waiting to happen!

Leave a Reply

