Baked Beans & Pineapple Greens

Ever feel like eating greens, but don’t want black-eyed peas? That’s me. Do you crave BBQ? Yeah, me too. I LOVE BAKED BEANS. Let’s just get that way out into the front. I used anasazi beans to make these, and I just cheated by cooking them with packaged BBQ sauce and onion flakes. Hey, I’m busy sometimes. And it tasted great.

The pineapple greens are from Appetite for Reduction. I’m on the fence about them–they smelled like magical deliciousness. But they tasted a little on the bitter side–but it might be because I used the “mixed greens” bag from Trader Joe’s, not just collards. I’ll try it again, but yikes! The bitterness!

On the other side of the plate you see the awesome and easy Happy Herbivore cornbread. That is my go-to cornbread, I don’t think I’ll ever, ever make anything else. It’s magical.

 

Leave a Reply

