Almond Poppy Seed Muffins!

MUFFIN v. MUFFIN showdown!

I have to stop making muffins. But I couldn’t stop myself! I looooove Almond Poppy Seed Muffins, and I was so encouraged by my delicious lemon muffin. The verdict? Lemon still wins. But I *think* it’s because I put too much orange juice in these (I accidentally dropped in 1/4 cup instead of 2 tablespoons), and over mixed it a tad. Ugh, over mixing. You are my arch-nemesis!

Almond Poppy Seed Muffins (makes 6):

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 T poppy seeds
  • 2 T orange juice (I used fresh squeezed)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup almond milk

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Line a muffin tin and remember to spray the cups! It’ll make your muffins come out so much easier. Mix all the dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Mix all the wet ingredients in a small bowl. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and plop in the wet ingredients. Mix until just moist. It’s okay if there’s a little dry flour visible. Divide evenly in muffin cups and bake for 20 mins. Hooray!

This recipe was obviously altered from the Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins recipe in Vegan Brunch

Leave a Reply

