What? I can eat pot roast again!

Squee! Thank you, Happy Herbivore!

First–like actual pot roast, this takes a bit of time and effort. Second–like actual pot roast, this tastes fantastic. But it doesn’t make you feel queasy, like pot roast always used to do to me! I was really surprised at how close this was to the “real thing”–not in texture, but in taste.

Texture is the only place you’re going to be let down–the roasted seitan has that spongey, seitan texture that we all know and love. I think it would be better, instead of baking it, to cut it into chunks and sauté with mushrooms–then you can also make a really easy gravy, too.

Bonus tip: when you do make gravy with the cooking liquid, add about 1 tsp of blackstrap molasses to it. It’ll give you that awesome brown gravy color you’ve always wanted. Ta da!

 

3 thoughts on “What? I can eat pot roast again!

  1. Pingback: No Harm, No Fowl: Vegan Thanksgiving 2011! | unethical vegan

Leave a comment